Categories
Uncategorized

Fantasy Island

Do you ever imagine a whole different life for your family (or just you) and mentally move to wherever you’ve conjured up and start a new life, all before you’ve gotten out of your pj’s and finished your morning coffee?

Me too.

The last time we were home, during my last maternity leave. What you can’t see here is the ocean which is just behind baby….you also can’t smell the salt in the air or feel the sea breeze. It was November. It’s nice 🙂

Yesterday I mentally moved our entire life back to Brisbane, Australia and it was a cathartic hour, let me tell you. As the snow was dumping and the temperature dropped outside, I had purchased a new home (with a pool, deck and walking distance to an abundance of cafes, shops and a BODY OF WATER), found myself and my husband a job and scouted an excellent daycare and school.

Quite the productive little morning I had while my little man snoozed and my little lady crafted to her heart’s content.

This is a regular occurrence for me during winter. I am not made for this weather. As hard as I’ve tried to embrace the snow and ice (which really isn’t that hard), I just don’t vibe with it. I’m basically in a mood from the first snowfall until the first warm day in spring.

*As you can see, I’m a real treat to be around. My husband LOVES it.*

This winter stings a little more as we were going to escape for three weeks to head to New Zealand in December. We were going to have a gloriously-warm southern hemisphere Christmas this year. I’ve had one Christmas with my family in the last 11 years so I was especially looking forward to this one. COVID has obviously derailed this plan so now there is no escape.

I did purchase a new winter coat this year though and have high hopes that it will help with the bone-chilling vibes this winter. It’s ugly AF but it’s warm. You can’t win all the fashion meets function endeavours you set out on.

So for now, I’ll resume my sometimes twice-weekly mental escapes where money and time aren’t barriers. It’s nice there. I like it.

*Denotes serious sarcasm.

Leave a comment