Categories
Uncategorized

Day 1,290,843,894 of restrictions

It’s snowing and we’re finally experiencing a little winter. It’s too cold outside for my littles (and me if I’m perfectly honest) and we can’t go anywhere. COVID restrictions have closed all of the energy-getting-out outlets for little people and I AM SLOWLY GOING INSANE.

We don’t have a huge house and it’s getting smaller by the hour. There is only so much crafting, singing, dancing and baking you can do before you morph into a hopeful and chubby Canadian idol contestant.

The longest hour of the day is undoubtedly the hour before my husband walks in the door. It is crazy how slowly time moves from 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. I am basically scratching at the walls and join our dog in barking at every passing car. The flood of relief I feel when he walks in the door is like the best and biggest glass of wine. It’s so relaxing. Another adult is home and I can tune the feck out if I want to.

I’m grateful for the restrictions being in place because we’re not really under control here but I need a carrot. I need the government to give me something to hope and work towards. A number, a target, a date. ANYTHING. This current holding pattern is hard and there seems to be no end in sight given the vaccination supply chain issues.

I miss my friends. I miss my family. I miss in-person interactions with people I like. Yesterday I literally had a 10 minute conversation with a lady at the grocery store because it was clear both of us hadn’t spoken to anyone IRL in a while and we didn’t know when the next opportunity would present itself. I shared more with that stranger than I had with anyone in months. (Shoutout to Cheryl for being a cool and inquisitive lady who likes to chat in the soup aisle).

Bring on spring.

Leave a comment